Saturday, September 26, 2020
home » news » smith files as republican candidate for sullivan mayor

Smith files as Republican candidate for Sullivan mayor


Major party candidates vying for the upcoming May primary election continue to trickle in at the Sullivan County Clerk’s Office.

As of late Wednesday afternoon, 10 candidates — seven Democrats and three Republicans — had filed for the Sullivan municipal primary with the deadline fast approaching.

Two Republicans filed last Friday, Joshua David Smith for mayor and Carl David Foster for city council District 1. Also filing that day was Scott Brown, a Democrat, seeking re-election to city council District 4.

Smith will be trying to unseat two-term incumbent mayor Clint Lamb, a Democrat. He is employed by Senco Construction, in Robinson, Illinois, a general contractor for Marathon Oil Refinery.

“I’d like to get the sewer fixed finally and maybe some streets fixed,” he said in a phone conversation. “Just throwing my name in the ring … I’m just trying to help.

“Clint’s done a good job, it’s nothing against him. I’ve thought about it a lot, just thought I’d throw my name in the ring. See what happens.”

In a later text, he added, “I’m just running to try and help the town. I would love to fix the sewers and roads and hopefully do something about the city pool situation.”

Smith is a 1994 graduate of Sullivan High School.

Races up for election in this year’s primary include Sullivan mayor, clerk-treasurer and all five city council seats.

Democrat candidates filed thus far are Lamb (mayor), D. Sue Pitts (clerk-treasurer), John Ellington (city council District 1), Gene Bonham (city council District 2), Roger Smith (city council District 3), Brown (city council District 4) and Tom McClanahan (city council At-Large).

GOP candidates filed are Joshua Smith (mayor), Foster (city council District 1) and Johnnie Kristler (city council District 3).

Current incumbents holding Sullivan city offices who had not filed as of Wednesday are Steve Martindale (city council At-Large) and Raymond Pirtle (city council District 3). Both are Democrats.

Major party candidates, Democrat or Republican, have until noon Friday to file for this year’s municipal primary election. 

Persons filing for clerk-treasurer and council seats in the towns of Farmersburg, Shelburn, Dugger, Hymera, Carlisle and Merom have until Aug. 1 to declare their candidacy for nomination by a town convention in a town with a population of less than 3,500.

Those races, as well as the Sullivan city races, will be decided in the November general election.

The only candidate to file for a town election at this point is Kaleb Westbrook, a Republican, seeking re-election to the Merom Town Council.

eEdition of AX_SITE_NAME
See and Buy our Photos