Friday, January 18, 2019
Uebelhor Buick GMC Feb 2017 bw Print
home » sports » wrestlers lose at west vigo

Wrestlers lose at West Vigo

By Times Staff

In its final competition before Saturday’s Western Indiana Conference championship, Sullivan lost to host West Vigo 58-18 in a high school wrestling match on Wednesday night.
“We ended up taking it on the chin tonight,” said Sullivan coach Roy Monroe. “We had to forfeit at 120, 126, 132 and 152 pounds.
“It is hard to give up 24 points and come back and win.”
Sullivan picked up wins at 170 as Wes Bedwell won by fall 90 seconds into the first period.
Kenton Williams also won by pin at 220.
Brandon Smith also picked up six points for the Golden Arrows with a pin at 145.
“Wesy, Kenton and Brandon all continue to wrestle well heading into the conference on Saturday,” said Monroe. “But we are still trying to get everybody on the same page.
“Charlie (Archer) and Tanner (Hancock) both seem lost right now. I am hoping to find them before the conference and the sectional next week.”
Monroe said that Jakob Barney lost a tough match to Briar Sollars at 160 by a score of 2-0. Josh Scaggs lost at 106 by a 5-3 decision.
“We have him in our sights,” Monroe said. “Jakob is getting closer to him every time on the mat.
“Josh beat the kid earlier by pin, but lost by decision tonight.”
Competition at the Western Indiana Conference, hosted by Edgewood High School, will begin at 9 a.m.
“We have a couple of days to try and make some adjustments before Saturday,” said Monroe.
West Vigo 58, Sullivan 18
160: Briar Sollars (WV) over Jakob Barney (SULL) (Dec 2-0)
170: Wes Bedwell (SULL) over Brandon Stroud (WV) (Fall 1:30)
182: Steven Denny (WV) over David  Morrison (SULL) (Fall 2:45)
195: Matt McVey (WV) over Tanner Hancock (SULL) (Fall 1:19)
220: Kenton Williams (SULL) over Dalton Elkins (WV) (Fall 3:36)
285: Ethan Vinardi (WV) over Dalton Will (SULL) (Fall 4:59)
106: Annalysse Dooley (WV) over Josh Scaggs (SULL) (Dec 5-3)
113: Keith Holder (WV) over Kyle Maxey (SULL) (MD 8-0)
120: Johnathan Otte (WV) over (SULL) (For.)
126: Seth Rohrbach (WV) over (SULL) (For.)
132: Jackson Morgan (WV) over (SULL) (For.)
138: Blaine Collins (WV) over Charlie Archer (SULL) (Fall 2:37)
145: Brandon Smith (SULL) over Chandler Smith (WV) (Fall 3:15)
152: Anthony Rubbinacci (WV) over (SULL) (For.)

eEdition of AX_SITE_NAME
See and Buy our Photos